Act fast and you could save yourself some headaches
Are you facing a first offense DWI in St. Louis, St. Charles, Franklin, or Gasconade county? A first offense DWI in Missouri can be a daunting situation for anyone, especially if you don’t have the proper legal counsel in place. Combs Law Group is a highly qualified criminal defense law firm that can help you navigate the legal path through your first DWI. For instance, we will advise you on both the civil and criminal side of the process. That means we will help you fight for your driving privileges with the Missouri Department of Revenue and we will work the actual DWI criminal case aggressively. However, it’s critical that you act fast and decide on your legal counsel as soon as possible. Why? Well, the state of Missouri has a 15 day period after your arrest where you can file for an administrative hearing. In some cases, we are able to represent you the administrative side and can work to reinstate your driving privileges.
If you miss the 15 day period and forfeit your administrative hearing it’s likely the Missouri DOR will suspend your license for a 90 day period. However, you may be eligible for restricted driving privileges if you are able to meet specific conditions during the 90 day period.
First Time DWI Penalties Possible Outcomes
The fact is that the state of Missouri has some of the hardest DWI laws in the country. Over the past 15 years the country as a whole has worked to strengthen DWI laws in an effort to appease anti-DWI advocacy groups like mothers against drunk driving. Today, even with a first time DWI in St. Louis, a defendant can be facing real jail time if he is successfully convicted.
Per to Department of Revenue website, a first time DWI in St. Louis, or anywhere in Missouri, can result in an immediate 90 day ban of driving privileges. Since it’s a Class B misdemeanor in Missouri, a first DUI offense will carry the following penalties:
- 8 points on your driving record
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Up to $500 in fines
- 90-day driver’s license suspension, the last 60 of which may be reduced to a restricted driving privilege (RDP) permit
However, you may file for a restricted driving privilege if you meet certain conditions. So we urge you to contact Combs Law Group today, a highly qualified St. Louis DWI lawyer, to help you fight your DWI charges. We will aggressively work to limit the overall impact of a DWI on your life and livelihood. Our principle St. Louis DWI attorney, Chris Combs, has worked hundreds of DWI’s in and around St. Louis and will put that experience to work for you. If you still need convincing, we urge you to take a look at what our previous clients are saying about us here.
If you’re ready to get the help you need then the Combs Law Group is ready and willing to stand by you and fight for your reputation and your freedom. If you contact our firm today we will set up a discrete one-on-one consultation with you to discuss your situation.