Finding A DWI Lawyer Jefferson County, MO
Have you or someone you know recently been arrested for a DWI/DUI in Jefferson County, MO? If so you’re probably looking for a Jefferson County, MO DWI attorney that can help you defend your case. Getting a DWI/DUI in Jefferson County is no joke and without the right legal representation, you might find yourself in some hot water. Alternatively, if you’re wise you’ll realize that trying to fight a DWI without a highly skilled Jefferson County DWI attorney on your side is going to cost you in the long run. Every year there are over 700 DWI/DUI arrests in Jefferson County, which is a result of strict enforcement throughout the county by both city and county police officers. On any given Friday night you’ll find that Festus and Arnold cops are on the hunt for drunk drivers. Now we don’t condone drinking and driving at all, but we do realize that good people can make poor judgments one night and get themselves caught up with the law. Unfortunately, once you’ve been pulled over and found to be over the legal limit of .08 BAC, you’re in for a long arduous road through the legal system. There is some hope though if you carefully consider your options for hiring a Jefferson County DWI attorney. At Combs Law Group we want to help you with your Jefferson County DWI case and take some of that stress away from you. Call us today at 314-578-1465 to talk to an attorney about your Jefferson County DWI.
Penalties and Consequences For A DWI In Jefferson County
Missouri has some of the most stringent DWI laws in the country and they seem to have gotten more serious over the past several years. Drunk driving activist groups like Mothers Against Drunk Driving have invested heavily into anti-drunk driving lobbyist and the result has been more and more DWI laws and more enforcement throughout the state. Overall, these laws are a good thing and they have heightened awareness of responsible drinking while driving. But again if you happen to be someone who made one bad decision and you get caught, your life could be altered for a long period of time. Even if it’s your first offense DWI you’re still looking at some serious hoops to jump through in order to get your life back on track.
Let’s take a look at the DWI penalties in the state of Missouri. First, at the time of arrest, it’s likely the arresting officer in Jefferson County took away your driver license. In order to get your license back, you have to begin a long and painful process with the Missouri Department of Revenue. Since driving is a privilege in Missouri, the state has the right to take your license away even if you haven’t been convicted of the DWI yet. Now it’s important to note that you have 15 days from the time of your arrest to file a petition with the state for a hardship license. In order to get the hardship (or restricted) license you must file for sr-22 insurance, and get an ignition lock device installed on your vehicle. If it happens to be your second or third DWI offense, you might be facing an immediate 1-year suspension, that’s also the case if you refused the breathalyzer test at the time of your arrest on either the first of second offense. If you’re facing charges for a second or third offense, and the last DWI arrest was within 5 years, you could be looking at a suspension of 5 years. And then if you’ve got 3 or more DWI arrests on your record already, you could be looking at a 10-year suspension. So with all of these possibilities at play you’re going to want to get a skilled and knowledgeable lawyer to help you navigate these tricky waters. A license is a critical tool for anyone in Jefferson County because public transportation isn’t available for you to commute to your job or anywhere else for that matter. So call Combs Law Group today and we’ll take action right away to secure your driving privileges immediately.
On the criminal side of the DWI case, things get worse. Even if it’s your first offense DWI/DUI, the state will hand down serious punishments to you if you don’t fight the charges. In a first time DWI, you could be looking at a misdemeanor class B that carries up to 6 months in the Jefferson County jail and up to a $500 fine. If you’re on multiple DWI’s at this point, then you could be looking at up to 1 year in jail and over $500 in fines. In addition, you could be required to do 20+ hours of community service and complete a SATOP course that costs $300-$500. Lastly, the most critical part of the criminal case is the impact on your criminal record. On multiple DWI’s you could be facing a felony charge, which can impact your life for years to come. Therefore, it’s crucial you build a solid legal defense that’s designed to negate some of the penalties. Combs Law Group is here and we’re prepared to go to battle for you today. Call us at 314-578-1465 if you’re ready for a free consultation.
We Are Your Choice For A Jefferson County DWI Lawyer
Combs Law Group is located in downtown Clayton, MO, but we serve clients all across the St. Louis, St. Charles, Jefferson, and Franklin Counties. Our lead attorney Chris Combs has worked hundreds of DWI cases all across the St. Louis and Jefferson County area. Chris is a skilled, knowledgeable, and well respected criminal defense attorney who got his start at Rosenblum, Schwartz, Rogers & Glass P.C. Therefore, he has what it takes to work your DWI/DUI case and get the results you want from a top Jefferson County DWI lawyer. Deciding which lawyer to hire is never an easy decision to make and you should carefully consider your options. But you should know that we’re proud of our past record with our clients and we stand by our reputation as one of the best DWI lawyers in the St. Louis metro area. Our service levels are unmatched amongst the hundreds of DWI lawyers in the area. We provide all our clients 24/7 access to Chris, our lead Jefferson County DWI attorney. If you decide to hire us you won’t regret it because you’ll be hiring someone who is going to fight to get you the best possible solution to your DWI case. If you’re still not convinced, read through our client feedback page to see what others are saying about working with Combs Law Group. Once you’re ready for your free consultation call us at 314-578-1465.