Juvenile Defense Lawyer Dent County, MO
Juvenile defense lawyer in Dent County, MO. Navigating the difficulties of the legal system as a juvenile can be a daunting experience for both you and your family. If you are facing charges, no matter their severity, it’s crucial to have a skilled, experienced, and empathetic Dent County, MO juvenile defense lawyer by your side.
The legal professionals at Combs Law Group specialize in representing juveniles involved in criminal or delinquency proceedings in Dent County and throughout Missouri. Our legal team plays a vital role in making sure that our young clients in Dent County, MO and their families receive equitable treatment and the best opportunities for rehabilitation. We recognize that good people can find themselves in bad situations, and we will do whatever it takes to help.
Call Combs Law Group as soon as possible at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online for a free, no-obligation case review. Our Dent County, MO lawyers will go over the specifics of your case with you and your family and provide legal guidance and the best course of action.
Why You Need a Juvenile Defense Lawyer in Dent County, MO
In Missouri, the Juvenile Division of the Circuit Court exclusively handles juvenile crimes, along with cases of abuse, neglect, adoptions, and more. This is extremely beneficial to you due to the fact that when a minor is accused of a crime in Dent County or anywhere else in Missouri the Juvenile Division provides rehabilitative measures instead of punishment. However, navigating the juvenile court system requires the expertise of an experienced Dent County, MO defense attorney familiar with its intricacies.
The Combs Law Group Dent County, MO juvenile defense lawyer team boasts extensive experience in defending young clients. We can work with the court to get the best possible decision on your behalf, as well as provide things such as character statements and mitigating factors for the judge’s consideration. Call us now at (314) 900-HELP or reach out to us online.
Who is a Juvenile or an Adult Under Missouri Law?
For purposes of the juvenile code, an adult is an individual 18 years of age or older while a child is anyone under 18. The age differs for various other circumstances under Missouri law, including:
- For driving purposes, there is a range between 15 ½ and 18 depending on the type of driver’s license.
- To possess or consume alcoholic beverages, an individual must be 21 years of age.
- In order to buy a long gun, an individual must be 18; for a handgun, it’s 21.
What Are Some Possible Outcomes of a Juvenile Accused of a Crime in Dent County or Elsewhere Throughout Missouri?
The potential resolutions for a juvenile facing criminal accusations depend on factors such as the gravity of the offense, the juvenile’s prior legal history, and the specific details of the case. These possible outcomes underscore the importance of having a dedicated Dent County, MO juvenile defense lawyer by your side, tirelessly advocating for your rights and future.
Don’t leave it to chance in Dent County, MO; reach out to the lawyers at Combs Law Group right now at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online. Here are some of the potential outcomes:
Juveniles may qualify for alternative programs aimed at diverting them from formal court proceedings. These initiatives, like counseling, community service opportunities in Dent County, MO, or educational components, provide alternatives to traditional legal pathways.
This is a common outcome for juvenile offenders in Dent County and throughout Missouri. Probation could involve routine check-ins with a probation officer, adherence to specific conditions, and participation in rehabilitation programs. Our skilled Dent County, MO legal team is proficient in championing reasonable probation conditions, offering valuable guidance and assistance throughout the probationary period.
In some cases in Dent County, MO, juvenile offenders may be required to make restitution to the victim(s), whether via financial payments or community service.
In instances of severe or repeated offenses, the court may order juvenile detention or placement outside of the home in the Dent County, MO area. This decision is often made when community-based rehabilitation appears impractical.
Some juvenile records may be expunged or sealed upon reaching a specific age, successfully completing required programs, or maintaining a clean record for a specified duration. In some cases though, certain offenses can remain on your record even after you turn 18. It is vital to consult with a Combs Law Group juvenile defense lawyer in Dent County, MO for guidance on the specific guidelines per jurisdiction. Our staff is available 24/7. Call us right now at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online.
It is important to realize that the juvenile justice systems in Dent County and Missouri are crafted with a main concentration centered on the well-being of the juvenile, prioritizing rehabilitation and treatment. The specific outcome will depend on the distinct circumstances of each case and the discretion of the court.
What Are the Different Types of Juvenile Crimes in Dent County and Throughout Missouri?
Juvenile crimes in Dent County, MO can encompass a range of activities and can vary in severity, from nonviolent to violent offenses. Common types of juvenile crimes in Dent County and throughout Missouri include:
- Truancy: Under Revised Statutes of Missouri § 167.031, also known as the Compulsory Attendance Law, parents must ensure that a child is enrolled in and regularly attends school. While homeschooling is an alternative, parents must demonstrate that the child receives 1000 hours of instruction.
- Curfew Violations: Being in public during hours when a minor is required to be at home. These vary by jurisdiction, so it is crucial to have an experienced juvenile defense lawyer on your side.
- Shoplifting and Theft/Burglary: Thankfully, the Missouri courts don’t feel children have the same decision-making abilities as adults. Property crimes, including shoplifting and theft, are handled by the Juvenile Division, which tends to course-correct juveniles who steal by releasing them to their parents or possibly in more serious cases ordering restitution, probation, a diversionary program, counseling, or even detention or home confinement.
- Vandalism: Cases of juvenile vandalism are also heard by the Juvenile Division. To be charged, vandalism must be proven to be purposeful. Penalties range from restitution and fines to probation or, in serious cases, detention.
- Trespassing: Juvenile trespassing is commonally driven by different intentions than adult trespassing. Fortunately, the courts see this and have far different penalties for juveniles – including probation, diversion programs, fines, or, in the most severe cases, detention.
- Traffic Violations: Juvenile traffic violations are unique in that, as explained above, a juvenile becomes an adult for driving purposes at 15 ½. The Juvenile Division cannot take any cases over that age, but if the traffic violation is severe enough to warrant jail time a juvenile DWI charge for example, the traffic court judge may request the juvenile court to supersede.
- Simple Assault: Recent legislative changes mean that a juvenile may now face charges of simple assault for injuring another person or for seriously threatening to harm another person. Classified as assault in the fourth degree according to RSMo. § 565.056, this offense is categorized as a misdemeanor, potentially leading to consequences like jail time, community service, restitution, probation, counseling, or a fine.
- Arson: Penalties for juvenile arson cases can vary widely depending on the circumstances. In minor cases, juveniles might be required to pay restitution or perform community service and undergo counseling. However, arson charges can quickly escalate to more serious consequences depending on the gravity of the offense.
- Gun Possession: This is an unfortunately common charge and the possible penalties for unlawful possession could be as minor as a fine or as major as jail time.
Our knowledgeable legal team ensures that the residents of Dent County, MO receive the best possible legal presentation in any situation. In addition to juvenile defense in Dent County, MO, our lawyers are experienced in several forms of law, including:
Who Decides if a Juvenile Can Be Tried as an Adult in Dent County, MO?
If you have been charged with a serious crime as a juvenile, you need to have a conversation with a defense attorney in Dent County, MO as soon as possible. The Combs Law Group legal team is available for free case reviews at (314) 900-HELP or by contacting us online.
Under RSMo. § 211.071, a juvenile court judge decides whether you will be tried as an adult after reading the charges, looking at your record, and following a hearing. Factors considered by the judge include the gravity of the charges, whether the community needs to be protected from you, the presence of force or violence in the crime, harm inflicted on others, whether you have a record of breaking the law, and your age.
If you are tried as an adult, our St. Louis criminal defense lawyers will do everything in their power to prove your innocence. However, if you are found guilty, there are several things that could occur. You could be placed on probation and given a second chance. You may spend some time in a detention facility and then later be sent to an adult prison. Or, in the worst-case situation, you may be immediately sent to an adult prison.
Contact a Juvenile Defense Lawyer in Dent County, MO Right Now at Combs Law Group
Finding the right juvenile defense lawyer is vital for ensuring a fair and just resolution for young individuals entangled in the legal system in Dent County or elsewhere in Missouri. With knowledgeable legal representation, juveniles in Dent County, MO can have a fighting chance at rehabilitation and a successful future.
We comprehend the unique challenges and pressures faced by today’s youth, and we leverage this understanding for your benefit. Combs Law Group fights for our clients, no matter the severity of their charges. Call us right now at (314) 900-HELP or reach out to us for a free, commitment-free consultation.