A DWI ARREST IN FRANKLIN COUNTY, MO IS SERIOUS BUSINESS
Getting a DWI or DUI in Franklin County, MO is a very serious matter. Franklin County is well known for its DWI enforcement and DWI prosecution. If you or a family member were recently arrested and charged with a DWI in Franklin County, you have some important decisions to make. First, make sure you hire a skilled and qualified DWI lawyer who knows how to navigate the municipal and state courts in Franklin County. Successfully fighting DWI charges in Franklin County can be a difficult task depending on the circumstances of your arrest. So you’ll want a DWI lawyer that knows how to fight criminal charges in Franklin County and has done so before. Combs Law Group has the knowledge and expertise you’re looking for in a criminal defense lawyer. You have many options when hiring a DWI lawyer, and the decision is a difficult one. However, a DWI conviction can have long-lasting consequences, so you need to do your due diligence and find the right lawyer for your case. Keep in mind that depending on your circumstance, you could be facing license suspension, fines, and jail time. However, if you take the right steps now you might be able to avoid or reduce the fines and jail time.
First DWI Offense vs Multiple Offense
Is this is your first DWI arrest in Missouri? If it is the state will likely follow normal protocol and file the charges as a class b misdemeanor. Unfortunately, that’s still a pretty serious charge under the Missouri statutes. Per the Department of Revenue website, a first time DWI in St. Louis, or anywhere in Missouri, can result in an immediate 90-day ban of driving privileges. Since it’s a Class B misdemeanor in Missouri, a first DUI offense will carry the following penalties:
- 8 points on your driving record
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Up to $500 in fines
- 90-day driver’s license suspension, the last 60 of which may be reduced to a restricted driving privilege (RDP) permit
The good news is that you can file a petition within 15 days of your arrest to dispute the license revocation. That’s why it’s crucial to get in touch with us today. We will get to work right away on filing the correct paperwork that protects your driving privileges.
If this is your second or third DWI you probably know that things are going to be much more complicated. Prosecutors have no tolerance for multiple DWI offenders and in most cases, they will be looking to throw the book at you. That’s why it’s so important to hire the right attorney. Someone who knows how to fight multiple DWI cases in Franklin County. Under Missouri law, a 2nd DWI offense is typically charged as a class A misdemeanor. This can carry up to 1 year in jail and up to $1000 in fines. If it’s your third DWI offense you could be facing a class D felony, which can carry up 4 years in jail.
WHAT TO EXPECT WHEN HIRING US AS YOUR SAINT FRANCOIS COUNTY DWI LAWYER
Combs Law Group always brings a unique approach to our clients’ legal defense. Based in Clayton, MO we provide criminal defense lawyer services to clients in Franklin County, MO. We can provide you with a personalized legal strategy that’s designed to limit your legal exposure. We have an impressive track record of experience in most areas of Missouri DWI defense laws. We have handled a multitude of DWI cases in the Franklin County area. In fact, we have successfully defended several DWI cases in Union, Pacific, and St. Clair. Including, multiple DWI’s, DWI accidents, and/or felony DWI’s. Whatever your charges maybe you will be in good hands with Combs Law Group. Don’t let a DWI arrest and conviction affect your life for the next 10 years.
With Combs Law Group you’ve found a Franklin County DWI lawyer that’s willing to fight the hard fight. Don’t kid yourself, DWI charges are very serious charges, and it will take a highly skilled DWI lawyer to get you the results you want. Our process begins by asking you some basic questions about your arrest to determine if the police followed protocol when they pulled you over and ultimately arrested you. We will review the police report to determine if there was in impropriety during the traffic stop, the field sobriety test, or the breathalyzer test. If there is we will review to see if it warrants a case dismissal. Otherwise, if we have to move forward with the case we put our process to work. That means we work with you to determine a best case scenario and a worst case scenario.
Once we’re in agreement on the strategy, Chris Combs, our Principal Franklin County DWI lawyer, doesn’t hand your case off to some paralegal. Instead, he will work your case from day 1 until the end. You will have 24/7 access to Chris during your engagement. If you have questions or concerns you can just pick up the phone and dial Chris’ cell number. Combs Law Group is ready and willing to stand by you and fight for your reputation and your freedom. If you contact our firm today we will set up a discrete one-on-one consultation with you to discuss your situation.