DUI Truck Accident Lawyer St. Louis, MO. Being in an accident with a commercial truck is already a situation no one wants to go through. But when the driver of the truck that hit you was intoxicated, this makes your St. Louis, MO truck accident into an even worse predicament. Commercial truck drivers are subject to much stricter standards than regular motorists when it comes to driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and when they violate these laws they put both themselves and all other drivers they share the road with in danger.
If you or a loved one has been injured as a result of a truck accident where the driver was found to be intoxicated, Combs Law Group is here to help you seek compensation for your losses and gain a measure of justice and closure for what happened to you. Call (314) 900-HELP today to speak with one of our St. Louis, MO personal injury attorneys. We offer free initial consultations and take all our St. Louis, MO DWI truck accident cases on a contingency basis–if you don’t get paid, neither do we.
DWI Laws For Truckers In Missouri
Truck and bus drivers in Missouri operate under different, and indeed more rigorous, laws compared to drivers of average cars and trucks, and rightly so. Since they are not only driving large vehicles carrying important goods, but also being paid to do so, it is expected that they have a level of driving education and skill that you or I are not expected to have.
When they violate those rules, though, the state of Missouri has harsh punishments for these violations. Something that for an average driver would just be a traffic ticket, like not changing lanes properly, could for a CDL driver result in their licence being suspended for up to 60 days. Driving while intoxicated, naturally, is treated much differently for a commercial driver than someone with a standard driver’s license:
- CDL drivers have a legal blood-alcohol content (BAC) limit of .04%, half that of regular drivers
- Even if they are not over the legal limit, commercial drivers can still be judged as “driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs”, which is treated the same as if they were pulled over and blew .04% or more
- Unlike standard DWIs, which carry a 90-day driver’s license suspension (of which 60 days can be suspended), a first-time CDL DWI means that the driver will be barred for driving for one year–including if they were pulled over for driving their personal car while intoxicated
See How A DUI Truck Accident Lawyer in St. Louis, Missouri Can Help You
If you’ve recently been in an accident with a truck where the truck driver was found to be intoxicated, filing a personal injury lawsuit may not be your first concern. It’s likely that you will be dealing with injuries, a severely damaged if not totaled automobile, and being interviewed by police and insurance companies for their own investigations. However, while justice in criminal court may be easy to gain, justice for your pain and suffering is not always so obtainable, which is when you need to talk to a driven St. Louis, MO personal injury law firm.
Combs Law Group has helped all sorts of St. Louis, MO truck accident victims take on the might of big insurance and trucking companies to get the compensation they deserve fcllowing an accident. Our firm specializes in creating personalized, tailor-made legal strategies that are built to get results, all while maintaining an unmatched level of client satisfaction and open communication. Contact us today to schedule a free document review and put Combs Law Group to work on your St. Louis, MO DUI truck accident case.