What Happens If You Get Your Third DWI?
Receiving a third driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge in St. Louis or anywhere else in Missouri is a serious offense with significant repercussions. As the stakes escalate, understanding the potential consequences to your livelihood and future become paramount. Your freedom and well-being are at stake. You need the trusted, award-winning firm of Combs Law Group.
Our DWI lawyers in St. Louis will analyze your driving record and prior DWI history to build a strong defense. If you are facing your third DWI, call us as soon as possible at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online for a free, no-obligation consultation. Our attorneys can provide guidance on the specifics of your case.
Defending Your DWI
Just because you were arrested for a third DWI doesn’t mean you are guilty. There are numerous DWI defense strategies the Combs Law Group attorneys can use to get the charges dropped or secure a not guilty verdict. We also may be able to draw upon mitigating circumstances in sentencing to help.
We have decades of experience fighting on behalf of our clients in St. Louis and throughout Missouri. The consequences of a third DWI conviction are much more serious than the second one, which is precisely why we build a strong defense and work to get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Penalties for a Third DWI
If you are convicted of your third DWI, you will be charged with a class E felony, which carries a maximum of 4 years in jail, and classified a “persistent” offender. You must serve a minimum of 30 days in jail or 60 days of community service. Other penalties include:
- Probation ranging from 1-5 years.
- Loss of your driver’s license for 10 years.
- Potential fines of up to $5,000.
- Installation of a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) for at least 6 months.
- Continuous alcohol monitoring (ankle device) or verifiable breath alcohol testing – could be performed up to 4 times a day.
- Required participation in a Substance Awareness Traffic Offender Program (SATOP)
- Required purchase of a high-risk automobile insurance plan, also known as an SR-22
In addition to the legal consequences of a felony DWI conviction, you could face limitations on jobs, housing, benefits, and even gun ownership. Call Combs Law Group now at (314) 900-HELP or reach out to us online to discuss the specifics of your case with one of our tenacious St. Louis criminal defense attorneys.
If you are charged with a fourth DWI, you will be classified as an “aggravated offender” with a class C felony. Your driver’s license will be revoked for at least another 10 years and you may be facing a prison sentence of 3-10 years and a fine up to $10,000.
What Happens If You Get Your Third DWI? | Combs Law Group
No matter when or where in Missouri you got a DWI, or how many charges you now have, you need an experienced St. Louis DWI lawyer fighting to get your charges minimized or thrown out. Whether it’s crafting a strategic defense, negotiating a possible plea bargain, or exploring alternative sentencing options, we will always have your best interests and your future in mind.
While you might be facing some serious trouble for multiple DWI convictions, we help good people in bad situations all the time. We know that these are life altering charges, and we’ll do whatever it takes to fight them. We are here to help you.
If you find yourself in the challenging situation of staring at a third DWI charge, hiring a skilled St. Louis DWI attorney at Combs Law Group is a critical step toward navigating the legal complexities and working toward the best possible resolution. Call us now at (314) 900-HELP or contact us online for a free case review.